On May 5th, the new Thespians for the 2016-2017 school year were inducted. These students worked hard in the theatre department of Bay High School to earn points by playing in the pit orchestra, working on crew, or being on the stage to receive their Thespian pins. As a Thespian members are part of an international network of theatre students and alumni who all share the same passion for the arts. At this year’s inductions, many parts of the arts were represented: Sarah Brumagin performed a monologue, Matthew Szekely read an original poem, Moira Meehan displayed pieces of her art, Jocelyn Joseph performed a beautiful dance, and Stephanie Jordan and Kerry O’Brien sang a duet.
This year’s Thespian officers, the leadership team of Bay High Thespians, passed down their positions to members of the rising senior class at the ceremony as well. New president is Sarah Brumagin, vice president Phil Lally, secretary Salem Stacey, and Historian/Junior Officer, Emma Legeay. These students will work hard next year along with other Thespians and theatre participants to make the productions of next year the best Bay High can produce! And, the shows for the 2016-2017 school year will be: Dracula (fall play) and Oklahoma (Spring Musical)! With Bay High’s new drama director, Ms. Frick, the shows of the 2016-2017 school year are sure to be amazing. Congratulations to all new Thespians and Thespian officers. Good luck with the productions of next year!